Home > Uncategorized > Blog 2: Are the Media Biased?

Blog 2: Are the Media Biased?

Is the media biased? In short, yes, I believe that the media is biased. The three big news networks in America, Fox News, MSNBC, and CNN all have their particular take and views on certain stories. As I see it CNN takes more of a center-left position on politics while MSNBC has a more left leaning take and Fox News has a more right leaning approach. It is easy to see that news networks are biased just by the way the stations portray either the Republican or Democratic Party.

I believe that having a partisan media is both good and bad for the United States. On one hand having a partisan media allows voters to tune into different news outlets and get particular takes on issues that they would not receive through their normal media diets. On the other hand if someone just paid attention to one particular station I strongly believe that their views of the world would be more skewed. Another downside to partisan news outlets is that they allow people with extreme views on issues to have opinion shows which people take as hard news. Specifically I’m talking about Bill O’Reilly on the right,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17UfCP78x5I&feature=related

And Keith Olbermann on the left,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m5HgfwPtxLw&feature=related

I believe that when people such as Bill O’Reilly or Keith Olbermann go on the air and paint Republicans or Democrats as the enemy, they are only hurting America. Objective news is the best kind of news but now that news is a business it is harder to find such outlets.  Unfortunately, I do not believe that there will be a return to objective news for quite a while.

  1. February 1, 2011 at 11:13 am

    When I was at college studying English I was taught that there is no such thing as objectivity, or something like that.

    However, even if I agree with that, it isn’t so much the opinions that bother me as the framing methods.

    I’m not sure if you’ve ever looked at my poor, tortured blog, but on Saturday I was saying that the names of the people reporting the news on the version of CNN I get here in Bulgaria read like something out of a morality play. Can I suggest you take a look if you haven’t? Put the personal stuff down as trash if you like, I don’t mind, but look at the names.

    I’m not sure that I agree there is no such thing as objectivity. Some things are obviously verifiable.

  2. February 8, 2011 at 8:58 am

    Props for getting a comment on your blog. Nice job.

    Experiment with embedding your youtube video into your blog post instead of just linking to it, and be sure to add a category to your post. You lost points for not doing so. Good job. Keep pushing it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

