Home > BLOG 5 > Blog 5: Political Blogs

Blog 5: Political Blogs

I had to do a bit of research for this assignment because I have never really followed political blogs. I have found two that struck my attention. One contains mostly political satire, and the other is more serious. The first of the two is demockracy. This blog is used to poke fun at our political system. In particular I read a post that I read that I found both interesting and entertaining. The title was The American Mid-Term Election Seen from Abroad. It discussed how the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) traveled to America to observe the voting process for the last midterm election. What they found was interesting. The

polling proceeded in a calm and well-organized manner,” the observers were struck by the “lack of voter secrecy” due to “voting booths and electronic voting machines … often placed too close to each other, which enabled clear insight as to how a voter marked the ballot,” as well as “the widespread possibility to vote without any picture I.D.” – a requirement in most of the elections the organization monitors

I thought that was an interesting story. The statement above I would say is very accurate. The lines are relatively quick and efficient, but the manner we vote in could be considered flawed. Another thing I liked about this blog were the political satire cartoons. This one is about Obama and how he puts what he wants in the media.

The Second Blog that I found interesting was The Raw Story. This focused on the details on the main story rather than the fluff, or “extra” information about the story. From this blog I liked a video that discussed the legalization of marijuana. I thought it was an interesting topic of choice. Gil Kerlikowske is arguing for pot to remain illegal. He also continues talking about how prescription drugs are the most common drug problem in the United States.

  1. March 8, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    Good, but maybe a little more about what you like about Raw Story. This blog is very different from the first blog you mention. What does this investigative-type blog offer that you find appealing?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

