Home > Uncategorized > BLOG 10: Republic.com 2.0

BLOG 10: Republic.com 2.0

As an English major, fiction novels have played a large part in my college career. Therefore, I usually find books like Republic.com 2.0 very refreshing to read, as they manage to succinctly deliver a message without any vague metaphors or allusions to interpret. Sunstein’s book brought up some very strong points in regards to why an abundance of information might not be a bad thing, which was something I had never really considered before. I always thought the abundance of information on the internet was inherently confusing, and appreciated the fact that I could go to sites that were attuned to my specific interests. However, Sunstein makes some very convincing arguments regarding the drawbacks of the isolating powers of the internet and its seemingly appealing ability to filter out information.

Ideally, I would love to expose myself to an an array of information from all political perspectives, which Sunstein says is a good thing. However, this is only an ideal. I am a very busy college student, and rarely have time to thoroughly peruse news sites and blogs. If I am going to get information, it’s most likely going to be from a site I trust and know how to navigate quickly and efficiently. However, the book did give me a new appreciation for not isolating myself within a certain network of sites, and some day I hope to expand my internet use. Chapter 6, which looked at the blogosphere, particularly piqued my interest, as I usually go to political blogs for information. It was interesting to realize that the left-leaning blogs I look at probably don’t cover many of the issues looked at in right-wing blogs. This was somewhat disconcerting, as I would like to be well-versed in politics, and if I can’t see all issues sides are looking at, I can’t claim I am politically savvy.

I would certainly recommend this book, especially to friends who only look to isolated sources for political information, as I feel many of my friends do. However, I did feel as if the book was too repetitive. Sunstein would make a point, and then describe the concept outlined in this point very well. He would then, however, use a long-winded example to re-illustrate this point, when it had already been made clear. Despite the books repetitive nature, I thoroughly enjoyed it, and would reccomend it to friends seeking an enlightening read.

  1. April 14, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Nice post. Thanks. Good to hear the perspective of a student used to reading difficult books.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

