Home > Uncategorized > Blog 10: Sunstein Book

Blog 10: Sunstein Book

The book Republic.com 2.0 by Cass Sunstein brought up many great points. I thought the concept of the book was very interesting overall. Sunstein brings up many great points about the idea of free speech and democracy within this new world of the internet. I thought it was interesting how he said people will only read and see what they want to. I think that it true to an extent. Many people would not go searching out their opposite political parties websites/blogs. But, some people may want to find out their views on things and therefore search them out. However, this is probably not very common.

 

My favorite part of the book was when Sunstein discusses the “information cocoons” and “echo chambers” that lets people filter their choices, and ultimately avoid opinions, etc that they do not want to hear. I thought that this was interesting because you may not even realize you are shutting those other opinions out while you do it. It is something everyone does though. People should be open and willing to hear to all types of opinions, however it is unlikely that this will ever occur.

 

My least favorite part of the book was when Sunstein, a lawyer, says that the internet should be regulated. Sunstein states that because of the innumerable choices of things on the internet made possible by technology, the internet should be regulated. I think that regulating the amounts of opinions, etc on the internet goes against our right of free speech. People should be able to state their personal opinion on the internet, there is no need to regulate this. Even if the internet is regulated, people will still search out the news and opinions that fits their point of views.

 

I would not recommend Republic.com 2.0 to just anyone. I would recommend this book to people who are in the communication, journalism, or law field. The writing in this book is a little dense, and hard to understand at times. For example, I do not think my mom or my sister would be able to understand this book. I would, recommend this book to people who are interested in the internet, or who have majors in the fields that I listed above, or who are generally interested in the effects of the Internet.

  1. April 14, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    I don’t think he would necessarily “regulate” in terms of eliminating content form the internet, but would probably be more likely to regulate in terms of providing subsidies for making sure certain information is online. So you might not find this sort of regulation as objectionable. Or maybe you would, but I just thought I would point it out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

