Home > Uncategorized > Blog 10: Republic.com 2.0

Blog 10: Republic.com 2.0

Reaction to the book

Cass. R. Sunstein’s book, Republic.com 2.0, was a very interesting book to say the least.  I really had a tough time getting through it all because of all the tough theories that he mumbled through and the high educated vocabulary that he used.  I really thought it would be an interesting book starting with the concept of the Daily Me but then I couldn’t more wrong!  This book was way too repetitive and boring! I have no idea how I could have gotten through such a book like this.  I feel like Sunstein tried to impress his readers by the lingo and copious amounts of theories and ideas he through at us, but to me I just felt like I was not on his level and uneducated, which I find to be a little bit of a turn off.  I want to be able to actually understand and like what I’m reading, not feel like I should Google things to get a better understand of what I am reading.

What was the best part of the book?

To me, the best part of the book was the Daily Me.  That was one theory that I really understood and that I could relate to. I feel the Daily Me relates to the college student so well because it talks about all the stuff we do and visit online in our daily lives and where we get our news from and how we get it.  I think the uses of relevant Internet sites and links was really cool because I was able to visit sites that I had never heard from before like Snopes.com and Reddit.com.   Other than the Daily Me idea the best part of the entire book was being able to get a lot of good sun outside while reading this book.  I can at least say I got a little bit of a tan while reading a LONG book for class.

Worst Part of the Book

The worst part of the book was probably one of the passages in the beginning where he talks about won’t be covered in his book.

I will not provide little discussion of monopolistic behavior by suppliers or manipulative practices by them. I will not deal with the feared disappearance of coverage of issues of interest to small or disadvantaged groups. I will not be exploring the fascinating increase in people’s ability to participate creating widely available information. I will not be discussing private power over “code,” the structure and design of programs. I will not be discussing the “digital divide.”

If you’re not going to discuss this stuff in your book, why bring it up? You just wasted my time telling me about 5 pages worth of what you won’t be talking about instead of what you will talk about.  I would rather hear about what is relevant to you and what is important than what is not important and why you won’t be talking about it.  Sunstein needed to stick to topic and get to the point.  I didn’t need to waste reading that part of the book that I felt was totally not necessary.  Secondly, Sunstein was way too repetitive.  I felt like all of his ideas and topics blended together.  He made a 200+ page book that could have been probably written in maybe 150 pages tops!

Would you recommend this book to others?

I would only recommend this book to others who I knew had a deep interest and knowledge in these topics and could easily understand what Cass Sunstein was talking about.  I think if i recommended this book to a lot of people I would get a lot of grief from them for wasting their time and feeling stupid because of the language and jargon used by Sunstein.  Therefore, I would have to be really smart about who I talk about this book to.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

