Home > BLOG 1, Capstone > Blog 1: What community do I belong to?

Blog 1: What community do I belong to?

One community I belong to is the community of Groupon. Groupon is a website that features daily posts which are referred to as the “deals-of-the-day”. This site offers users the ability to buy a service or product at a discounted price, which is only made available to Groupon users. In order to get the most out of this website, one has to register by giving information containing their email address and their zipcode. After I entered my zipcode, I was able to view the best deals that were particular to the  St. Louis and Columbia area.  For example,

Your Daily St Louis Groupon   |   Go to Groupon.com   |   Unsubscribe
Be sure to add mail@e.groupon.com to your address book or safe sender list so
our emails get to your inbox. Learn how
Groupon The Daily Deal for Sunday, August 28, 2011
St Louis
follow us: Facebook Twitter
89% Off 10 Boot Camp Classes in Brentwood and Edwardsville
89% Off 10 Boot Camp Classes in Brentwood and Edwardsville
Establishing a regular exercise routine is a
great way to show your body you care and is much less painful than swallowing a
greeting card. Show your true feelings with today’s Groupon: for $30, you get 10
drop-in boot camp…
view deal
Multiple Locations

It is rather easier to get information about this community. Daily emails are sent to my account when a promotion actually becomes a ‘daily deal’. I can also visit the Groupon website to view the deals that are still going on, not just those for that particular day. Since I am a little bit of a Groupon junkie, I even downloaded the Groupon app for my phone and ipad, so I can essentially know what Groupon has to offer any time of the day! I am all about saving money and this community allows me to find new things to do without breaking my bank.

Categories: BLOG 1, Capstone Tags: ,
  1. September 8, 2011 at 11:33 am

    Do you connect with other Groupon users as part of your Groupon activities? When thinking about Groupon, do you see yourself as a “customer” or a “community member?”

    Do any of the communication activities you mention (email, website, app) tend to particularly strengthen your connection to the Groupon community?

    Good job overall. An interesting community to think about in terms of membership.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

