Columbia has a variety of resources for finding information about our community, however I feel like it’s almost impossible to know about all of them. Personally, if I want to know something about the community I will search and search until I find the answer. For others, that may not be as appealing. If they can’t find their answer on the first page of Google, then they might not look any farther. Unfortunately we live in a society where if the information isn’t right in front of our face in plane sight, then we probably won’t find it.

Before starting this blog post I read through a few of the other posts. All of them have great examples of important information for the community. I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to find something that wasn’t along the lines of what had already been posted, but after going http://www.gocolumbiamo.com/ I noticed something in the right side bar. After clicking on the logo I discovered a service that I didn’t even know was offered to the City of Columbia.

Nixle is a service that provides community information via text message, web and e-mail. Some of the agencies included in this services are the Boone County Office of Emergency Management, the Columbia Fire and Police Departments, Columbia Public Communities, Department of Public Health and Human Services and the Columbia Water and Light Division.


After discovering this really neat tool I signed up to receive text messages. The screenshot above is what my news feed on their website looks like. As you can see there are posts from the agencies that I mentioned earlier. I did noticed however that nothing new has been posted recently. For example most of the ones on the screen shot are from almost a year ago. It’s a shame that we have access to this great tool, but it’s not getting used or advertised. With so many people having cell phones now, this could be a quick and easy way to notify resident about road closings, accidents, and so many other emergency or non-emergency types of information.

  1. September 13, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    Does the fact that this service is not getting used tell you something about the service? How could this service be improved to be more useful or relevant to you?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

