Home > BLOG 3, Capstone > Blog 3: Collecting Surveys

Blog 3: Collecting Surveys

Honestly speaking, I did not really enjoy collecting the surveys. People usually seemed busy and kind of annoyed that I was asking them to take time out of their day to complete the survey. Also, I am a pretty shy person and don’t really like going out of my comfort zone. So that added a little bit of difficulty to my task. However, I will say that I do see the benefit of going out into the community and actually talking to the residents that we are basing our project on. And usually, once I explained that I was a Mizzou student and that it was for my senior capstone class, they seemed more interested in taking it. It was also a really good opportunity to meet and talk to people I probably would have never taken a second glance at otherwise.

I was able to get a lot of my surveys done at the Arts and Sciences fair on campus. There were a lot of parents/professors/food workers there that had a lot of time on their hands and were available to take my survey. I found that it was (of course) very easy to get my 5 undergrad surveys done, and harder to get my last 10 done. But the fair definitely helped me a lot. I was also able to get a good number done while I just walked downtown for about an hour.

I think what made it more difficult was that the survey was pretty lengthy. Many people would agree to take it, flip through it to see how long it was, and then decline. Maybe it would have been better if we could have some way condensed the survey by a page or two. But I understand the predicament you were under in trying to make it as thorough a survey as possible.

Overall, collecting the surveys was a little difficult but I think it was necessary and ultimately helpful. I got to meet a couple of cool people, and even met a woman from my exact same neighborhood in Chicago. And hopefully, it will help the entire class know how to better address the information needs of Columbia’s residents.

 

 

  1. October 19, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    Good post Kamaria. Thanks for the thoughtful reflection on the process.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

