Home > BLOG 3, Capstone > Blog 3 Survey Response

Blog 3 Survey Response

October 12, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

The surveying process was a frustrating one. In my experience I found that people on MU’s campus were more willing to assist with the surveys then those off campus and in the community. Therefore I feel as if (at least with my surveys) there are missing Columbia demographics in the results.

When approaching people I found it difficult to generate an interest in participating in the survey, especially in paper form. I got the feeling they saw even 10 minutes of their time as an extreme inconvenience. The public that I surveyed typically asked if there was a link they could go online and access instead of doing the survey in a written format. Even though the survey was the same length and asked the same questions I found this request to be quite common. Another factor in people’s lack of participation was the absence of incentive to complete the survey. In the second set of fifteen surveys, I surveyed employees at my boyfriend’s office. After completing the survey I offered to bake brownies for them as a sign of my appreciation for their help. Suddenly more people within the office were willing to assist with the survey if they could also take part in the incentive.

The length of the survey was another contributing factor in the public’s lack of interest. Even though it would only take a few minutes of their time and the questions themselves were easy to answer, upon looking at the packet of papers it was extremely intimidating at first glance.

After the respondent completed the survey I didn’t receive much feedback like I had hoped. I got the feeling people rushed through the 66 questions just to get through it, not really taking the time to take the survey seriously.

A survey has good intentions of going directly to the source and I felt as if the questions could potentially give helpful and insightful information about the Columbia community, however the execution of gathering this information didn’t seem to bode well with those I surveyed. My experiences weren’t all negative. Some who I asked to take the survey even encouraged others they were with to take it as well. No one was outright offended by any questions or by my asking to participate. Many politely declined and a handful agreed to participate. Overall the process wasn’t a bad one, perhaps just not the response I had hoped for.

Categories: BLOG 3, Capstone Tags: , ,
  1. October 19, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    Good reflection. Sorry there weren’t more positives about the process for you. Paper surveys are a little antiquated in this day and age, but the good thing is that when you get people to agree to complete them, and they answer the questions, then you know you have a completed survey. For the people asking for links for an online survey, how many of them would have gone home or wherever and actually completed the surveys? I’m guessing not very many.

    But you are right, getting people to complete surveys is always a tough slog because almost everyone has something else better to do. Your brownies idea was a good one though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

