Home > BLOG 3, Capstone, Uncategorized > Blog 3: Community Information Surveys

Blog 3: Community Information Surveys

Over the past few weeks I have been collecting survey
information from Columbia MO residents. This survey information included topics
like how Columbia residents obtain information about what is going on inside the
city of Columbia. My personal experience with collecting these surveys from
Columbia residents has been very interesting and so far very helpful in gaining
insight on this subject. I believe collecting these surveys myself will help me
understand how people gain information on Columbia better than simply being
handed this information from someone else or just looking up census information somewhere. I believe this is because I was actually able to see the information first hand especially when I had to re-enter it into Survey Monkey and actually talk to people in person about what exactly we are trying to do with this study. To collect my survey information I decided to go after people I knew who are Columbia residents first. This made collecting the information easier I think since I could always leave the survey with the person to do in their own free time and then come back to get from them later. Since I work at a semi-big corporation I was able to get over half of my surveys completed at my workplace. I believe this made obtaining the survey information a lot easier for me because of the fact that I was surveying people I knew. I believe this made people more
comfortable and more willing to give out personal information about themselves.
Over all collecting the survey information was not as much of a hassle as I
thought it would be and finding the information myself was actually pretty
useful.

  1. October 19, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Good reflection. It sounds like many class members collected at their place of work and that this generally worked well. It makes sense, and as long as a workplaces has a good variety of people it also works for the survey.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

