Home > BLOG 3, Capstone > Blog 3: Survey Reflection

Blog 3: Survey Reflection

Collecting responses was quite an experience. Although it was, at times, tedious, it allowed me to interact with Columbia residents in a way I never would have otherwise. My first 15 were mainly friends and connections I have through work. That was relatively easy for me. The other 15 required me to go to local Columbia places to solicit people. I feel like I am a relatively outgoing person, but I felt like it was difficult to keep going after many people turned me down. It was discouraging, to say the least.

Most of the people that actually participated were good sports about it and I was able to have good conversations with people from all walks of life- from teachers to restaurant servers. I noticed that quite a few people rushed through it and would not answer the fill-in-the-blank portions. Sometimes, if I noticed it in time, I would ask and fill it in myself, but I thought it was interesting that they wouldn’t do it themselves. Although I’m not particularly proud, I did beg people to take my survey as an “undergraduate researcher”. I found that this tactic helped a lot; it’s how I secured at least 10 people. Overall, I had a pleasant experience talking to people and being pushed outside my comfort zone.

  1. October 19, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    Good reflection. Yes, actually administering the survey makes a difference. It makes it harder on you as the surveyor, but it helps. No one wants to answer fill in the blank questions, but often those are the most helpful/interesting answers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

