Home > BLOG 3, Capstone > Community information survey feedback

Community information survey feedback

When we first received the assignment to go out and gather thirty 60-question long surveys on what people thought about the community information environment, my jaw dropped. The only thing that ran through my head was “Who in the world would ever want to fill this out?” After taking a deep breath and just going out there into the world to finish this assignment, I realized how surprisingly painless it was. People are not as harsh and cold as I pictured them being. Rather, they were willing and eager to help a young college student do research that would possibly help improve the community. I really appreciated being treated like an adult in the process as well because, for me, even though this seemed like it would be a really difficult task, it was more of a goal that I was motivated to accomplish because of the pressure that was put on to just get it done. There weren’t any other instructions besides just go out and do it, which was refreshing. Looking back, I can’t say that I enjoyed the activity, but I did not find it as stressful or grueling as I initially perceived it to be. It was a learning experience that taught me how to approach a variety of people and conduct real research. Overall, it was an interesting adventure that I learned quite a bit from. 

  1. October 19, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Good reflection Lindsay. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the experience. Now that you are transitioning from student to the next step, there will be a lot more of those “just go out and do it” challenges. The good thing about this is that those type of tasks are more rewarding, challenging, satisfying, etc.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

