Home > BLOG 3, Capstone, Uncategorized > Survey Reflection

Survey Reflection

Collecting surveys for me was relatively easy. I live in a predominately nice neighborhood in Columbia that has a lot of families. I went door to door and asked if my neighbors would complete my surveys. They were more than willing to help me out. Many of them even invited me in. One older lady asked if I was hungry or wanted something to drink. They were way more friendly than I thought they would be. I thought most of Columbia’s residents had bad impressions of Mizzou students. I found out that I was dead wrong. They were inviting and friendly. Although I did have a couple elderly people who seemed to hate students. For example one man shut the door right in my face when he heard me utter the word “student”. Other than that I found getting surveys to be easy. I know a lot of people would not go door to door but I have done that in one of my past jobs so I was use to it.

I found this activity to be somewhat of a hassle, but in the end I am glad I did it. I got to meet my neighbors, who I would have never spoke with if it was not for this survey. However, I did feel a little uneasy when they put down how much money they made. They knew I was going to see it and also knew I lived down the street. If some random college kid asked me my total yearly earning I would be hesitant to give it to them.  One critique I would give is the raw number of surveys we had to get was a little too much for me. I think 20 total would be a more realistic number. Other than that I had no problems with the survey and actually enjoyed getting out in the “community”.

  1. October 19, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    Glad to hear you got out in the neighborhood for this. And breaking down barriers/assumptions/prejudices/etc is one of the great parts of this type of community work.

    20 surveys makes sense. The good thing about 30 is that I am hoping that the larger number makes up for some of the “noise” that I’m assuming exists in the data resulting from the variability of data collection approaches used by students in the class.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

